top of page

Live with a joyous attitude

What Is Kombucha Anyway?


When I had my first experience with Kombucha water it was over 5 years ago when my mother started drinking it. At first, I wasn’t sure what to think of it because it was prior to my enlightenment so I judged it by the smell and was like nope not for me. A hint of the smell of vinegar I thought no way am I drinking that. The thought of apple cider vinegar was the most disgusting thing anyone could ever drink. Looking back now I have to laugh at myself because I have done a complete 180 on how I view apple cider vinegar and fermented beverages and also hello on keeping an open non-judgmental mind. I am thankful to have come around to the idea of drinking kombucha because it has saved my health in numerous ways.

Five short years later I am a huge fan of Kombucha. Part of the reason I love Kombucha water so much is because of the fizz. I used to be a soda drinker sort of but gave it up over ten years ago. I discovered the reason I liked soda was because of the fizz not as much for the flavoring or the loads of sugar (diet soda is even worse for your body health wise). I have mentioned before I was in the bad habit of drinking a couple of glasses of wine every night. Part of working on changing this habit was by switching to kombucha water. It has the flavor and the fizz combined and you would swear you are drinking a sparkling wine without the alcohol. Actually, there is a trace of alcohol in it due to the fermentation but it’s under 1%.

Not only does Kombucha taste amazing it has many health benefits. The reason why Kombucha is a considered healthy drink is because it has active enzymes in it. You want to drink it raw and unpasteurized because if it’s pasteurized like the juices sold on grocery store shelves it has been stripped of the live nutrition due to it being heated up in the pasteurization process. It’s also best to purchase kombucha water organically because of the tea and small amounts of sugar. This will ensure it contains zero GMO’s.

Because of the live active enzymes in the drink they assist the live enzymes in your gut to contribute to better health. The antioxidants in kombucha water contain anti-inflammatory properties and potential anticancer properties. It can help in managing diabetes, protect your liver and manage a healthy heart and mental health. Since over 95% of disease starts in the gut, drinking kombucha water supports the healing of it. It can also help relieve any gastrointestinal issues and fight against the dangerous bacterial infections we are susceptible to when we eat GMOs and processed foods made with added chemicals and pesticides.

More and more grocery stores are carrying a variety of brands of kombucha water which is awesome. I have my personal favorite brand I like to drink made locally in Minneapolis and with organic ingredients called Deans Kombucha. You can purchase this brand at many of the local co-ops and restaurants that are offering more options to health-conscious consumers. My dream would be to have it available on tap in mainstream pubs but we have some work to do to get there.

To avoid any side effects, I would recommend starting out with small amounts and you can work yourself up to drinking 8-16oz a day which is what most people prefer. It’s not something you want to sit and drink several glasses of in one sitting. Personally, it’s a treat for me at the end of the day to enjoy after I have accomplished my goals and the best part is you feel healthier after you drink it.

Since Kombucha has only 4 ingredients in it; brewed tea, filtered water and

sugar plus the flavor you want to add you can make it at home. I have a friend who is a pro at making it and I have personally attempted to make it a couple of times with success but I couldn't keep the healthy scoby going. If you wanted to pick up an extra hobby this would be fun and rewarding. I predict it may some day get to the popularity likes of home brewing beer. I plan to take a professional class on how to brew it as I have come across communities that offer them and Dean's offers them as well. Until then I will continue to support my gut and purchase my Kombucha from my local co-op.

Love and Light,

Amber

Other brands of Kombucha I like in pic above and below. Drink it in a wine glass!

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page